My American Pie… Drove my Chevy to the Levee….

Hi Guys…Just want to wish you a super fantastic weekend and tell you a little about my “American Pie”… thanks for dropping by!…

I remember screeching out the words to this song…it was so catchy… it didn’t take long… and I knew them all… so sing… I did!… years later the meaning of the song was revealed… I was introduced to Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and the Big Bopper…today while searching for something else… I discover these YouTubes… thought that they were interesting… as it turns out… I learned some facts I didn’t know… for instance, Waylon Jennings was there that night… he gave up his seat on the plane… Tommy Allsup was also there and flipped a coin with Ritchie Valens… how hard that must of been to live with… Listen to Tommy’s interview of that night… So here are some YouTubes… they tell stories and share the music of the legendary performers… they were awesome…

The Meaning Of American Pie… As presented on this YouTube…

The Meaning of American Pie… As presented on this YouTube…

The Big Bopper sings “Chantilly Lace”…

Tommy Allsup tells of the “Coin Flip” with “Ritchie Valens”…

Waylon Jennings… The Stage Tribute to Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, The Big Bopper and Eddie Cochran

Jole Blon, Waylon Jennings, Buddy Holly and King Curtis

Waylon Jennings… “Old Friend”… written to Buddy Holly

Ritchie Valens …”Come On Let’s Go”…

Buddy Holly… “That”ll Be the Day”…

Awesome music… they led the way…

Have a super fantastic Saturday! Please drop a comment or two… share some news… brighten our day… we only bite on days ending in “Y”… don’t be shy… hit a like button or two… I appreciate it a lot…

Woot. Woot.

Again, thanks for dropping by…. Please join in on our “Sisterhood Of The Traveling Journal” and Knights too… Woot Woot… Journal is in Georgia…We now have 20 lovely people joining in, who is next!!!!…If you want in… JUST leave a comment with your e-mail or email me!

Hit the Facebook “Like” on the sidebar columns or on the FaceBook “Like” button below and I promise that I won’t come to your house and sing!! But you may win our brand new contest!! We will be giving away $100, $75 and $50 gift certificates to our website when we reach 500 “Likes” on our Facebook page. There will be one grand prize and 2 prizes for the most referrals. Enter by Liking us, first of all. The for extra chances, follow us on twitter, tell us what piece of jewelry you like best, subscribe to this blog!!

Please check out our Charities page!!! Let Us know your Charity so we can shout out the cause!!!!

Love ya,

Have a fantastic day! Kindness pass it on!!!

Just keep swimming>>>> no really listen here!

 
Lisa
 
OH and one more thing…
Then there IS this – read these…
9 responses to “My American Pie… Drove my Chevy to the Levee….

  1. Hi, I am up early but I am coming back for this post. a great collection you have chosen. You are something ELSE! love you so!!! jean! xox

  2. I had no idea, Lisa, no idea.
    ~Erin

  3. I spent an entire year in college studying the origins of Rock and Roll and the stories that fed Don Mclean when he wrote American Pie. Thank you for being wonderul and nerdy about old school music.
    Singing through Friday!

  4. We joke that this isthe first rock and roll song my kids lerned b/c no matter what it was never ever turned off th radio. Greatmemories of sitting in parkinglots with he kids waiting for the song to end all of us singing at the top of our lungs.

    this is an incredible tribute you’ve put together thank you so very very much

  5. This post brought back memories! When I was a little girl, I took part–and won– a hulahooping contest at summercamp. My musical theme included The Big Bopper, Buddy Holly, and Richie Valens. I love the places and times your posts take me, too. Keep on blogging! ooxx

Leave a Reply

