My Baseball…

Hey everyone!

How are you today?… I hope you are reaching for your goal… sure its tough…heehee… did you really expect anything else?…  Come on in… lift your spirits… share some encouragement… it makes all of us smile. Thank YOU!

Just a few things happening in my world…

I love baseball… I really do… but our history is tainted… here’s my story. I remember in the late 70’s my father watching the braves on TBS he wasn’t very vocal while watching the games so it just quietly slipped by and I didn’t give baseball much thought… Who knew ten years later I would have a son… who played baseball…

A few years later… when my son was playing little league… we would race home to watch the braves play. We knew every player… I wasn’t as quiet as my father, so I yelled and cheered at my TV a lot. I must admit looking back I was a little obsessed…  I think it was my 28th birthday when my son and I made the 150 mile journey for a day game…to go see the Atlanta Braves…Atlanta Braves MLB Website

The sweetest thing I remember was his eyes when we sat down in our seats… He was quiet then and didn’t say very much he just took in the game.

What I remember next was super scary… when we went into the park it was daylight and we were so excited…I forgot to drop my cookie crumbs… I didn’t even look to see where I parked my car… It was lost, and I was a scared mommie, that tried not to show it!…So my son (who was 5) and I walked around,  talked about the game… until we finally found the car… YEAH!… when I got on the highway (headed the right way) I stopped and called my mom (cell phones were just coming out ) to let her know we had fun and were headed home!

I continue to be a Braves fan but as life changes, obsessions change too… I still  catch a game or two and there is nothing like the thrill of being at a game. But…

I remember getting angry over the strikes, maybe it was none of my business, but I really didn’t watch baseball for the longest time after that.

As I grow and learn more about how the world works… It makes me nervous about what will happen if there is no football or basketball next year. I don’t know a whole lot about there negotiations… I am just talking about economically… there are a lot of people who work these games… that would be really terrible right now!

OK so back to my baseball story…

So last night I watched the All Star Game…

Two things bothered me… I thought it was really disgusting that the guy who went over the rails in Arizona, held onto by his friends… that shouldn’t have been shown and given so much coverage … geez they buried the guy from Texas yesterday didn’t they? I don’t understand why we promote bad behavior… but I guess that’s is what I am doing by writing about it here. Here are the two stories…

Fallen fan’s widow thanks Josh Hamilton, Rangers

Fan Nearly Falls From Stands During Home Run Derby in Phoenix

The second thing that bothered me was the players… HOW hard is it to take your hat off?… for respect. I closely watched this part, it looked like about a 50/50 split… I am talking about as the players names are announced about half saluted with there hat off the other half didn’t.

I thought the game was great… Woot Woot for the first time in forever the NL will have home field advantage in the world series…

Congratulations to the National League!…

I was so happy I just had to sit down and write a little something for you and baseball!

Baseball makes me smile… I will drive the miles…

Paint my face… cheer from space…

Hotdogs, beer and chips… tailgating will make you do flips…

Baseball is great…

Hey!!!… He didn’t miss home plate… your brain is baked…

Take me out to the ball game…

Take me out to the crowd…

buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks…

I don’t care if I ever get back…

cause its root root root for the home team…

If they don’t win it’s a shame…

cause its one two three strikes your out at the old ball game!

Wow!!!

I shouldn’t sing that so loud… they will throw me out of the crowd…

The laughter… the cheers…

Look out here comes the wave… stand up… be brave…

Beach balls… t-shirts being shot at your head… hey I want mine in red…

The music is fun… the radio guys announce… winner in seat 221…

Programs… t-shirts… rubber hands… too much for me…I am going back to the stands…

Oh NO!…

Look at this line… I am going to lose my mind…

We won the game… I am so glad we came…

Don’t you dare get up…  We are surely… stuck!

I remember the games when I watched the Atlanta Braves every night… through thick or thin… I know there are a lot of fantastic baseball coaches out there… but I would like to give a shout out to Bobby Cox… I think he was a great one!

Bobby Cox is a ‘one-of-a-kind’ manager

Thanks for the ride, Bobby!!! what a journey you gave us!!!

Hit the Facebook “Like” on the sidebar columns or on the FaceBook “Like” button below and I promise that I won’t come to your house and sing!! But you may win our brand new contest!! We will be giving away $100, $75 and $50 gift certificates to our website when we reach 500 “Likes” on our Facebook page. There will be one grand prize and 2 prizes for the most referrals. Enter by Liking us, first of all. The for extra chances, follow us on twitter, tell us what piece of jewelry you like best, subscribe to this blog!!

Please check out our Charities page!!! Let Us know your Charity so we can shout out the cause!!!!

Have a fantastic day! Kindness pass it on!!!

Just keep swimming>>>> no really listen here!

 
Lisa
 
OH and one more thing…
Then there IS this – read these…
5 responses to “My Baseball…

  1. Woo hoo! I loved reading your post. It made me almost feel giddy. I’m originally from Pittsburgh and am a rabid Steelers and Pirates fan. Being from a big sports town brings lots of happy memories. I can’t say that I ever forgot where I parked tho! 🙂

    Love you, Lisa!
    Erin

  2. How are you?? Dear Lisa I enjoyed your post, send you huggs and take care!! gloria

  3. Hi! My grandfather was born in Brooklyn. As a little kid, we would go over to their house, a mile away, and my grandfather (who played golf and had been an avid ice hockey player when he was young) woukd jump out of his recliner to greet us! What was always on the TV? The Brooklyn Dodgers! Boy was it tough when they moved away. There was nothing like that home team for our family!
    Thanks for talking about some of the great things which almost everyone who lives here in the US shares — BASEBALL! It’s so great. jean xox

  4. Go Braves! Loved this post as I do all of them. So energizing!

Leave a Reply

