Ms. Fit…. “Ask Jenny” style

Good Morning,

I hope everyone is having a wonderful wonderful Wednesday! I certainly am… I am super excited this week, I would like to introduce those of you that are new to our weekly Ms. Fit post  to our wonderful fitness Trainer Jenny from Fitness Health and Food. Each week I sound off about getting in shape and what I have done or havent done.. hehehee.. Progress can be difficult but Jenny gives some awesome encouragement and advice. Please check out last week’s Ms. Fit post here.

I hope you will drop by and sound off on Wednesday, our ask Jenny is open to anyone and I encourage you to check out her web-site… it is full of encouragement.

So here is the interview with Jenny!…

Jenny, How did you get into health and fitness?

“I was very lucky to have been raised by parents who encouraged us to eat lots of whole foods and be physically active. I played many different sports as a youngster but never really cared about competing with other kids, I simply wanted to see how much I could improve my own performance.
As I got older, I became interested in individual endurance sports and decided to train and compete in triathlons and long distance running races during college and the years following. I also played rugby all four years of college which was ridiculously fun.”

How long have you been a personal trainer/coach?

“I will do my best to make this answer as short as possible! If you want more details feel free to visit my About page.
My first experience was during college when I coached young swimmers on my club swim team. While training with my college rugby team I also became interested in learning about strength training and athletic conditioning. I would spend hours at the gym trying out new routines and participating in group fitness classes.
As I continued through my college years as a Recreation Management major, I took a variety of classes in Nutrition and Kinesiology, in addition to my more business centered curriculum. I worked with the Group Fitness Department as part of their hiring committee and evaluated instructors and participant satisfaction.
When I graduated from college, I worked as a personal trainer and group fitness instructor at the gym that served the federal employees at the U.S. Department of Justice in Washington, D.C.. For a variety of reasons, I decided to try something new and moved to Chicago to attend culinary school!
A lot happened in the years that followed: I worked as a line cook and a medical secretary; met and married my husband Nick; lost my dad to cancer and my sister to suicide. As you can imagine, it was a lot to take in. I decided to go back to school for a second degree but took a break part way through to earn money by working as an assistant operations manager for a large Chicago based fitness company.
While studying Dietetics, I took several awesome courses including Advanced Nutrition, Advanced Anatomy and Physiology, Life Span Development, Nutrition Through the Lifecycle, Organic Chemistry, Experimental Foods. In the end, I decided to switch from Dietetics to Nursing and entered an accelerated Bachelor’s of Nursing program this past January.
Again, you can read more about this on my About page but I had to leave my Nursing program after only three weeks due acute depression and anxiety. I’m technically on medical leave and can return if I want to. However, as the months go by I’ve realized that I am perfectly happy with what I am currently doing. “

What are overnight oats?

“Overnight oats are made by mixing oats or oat bran with milk, water, and/yogurt and letting them sit overnight in the fridge. You can add other mix-ins and toppings just as you would to regular cooked oats.
I LOVE overnight oats and I never thought I would. They are super convenient on a busy morning and I find that a bowl of overnight oats keeps me fuller longer than regular cooked oatmeal.
My favorite overnight oats mix is: 1 cup almond milk, 1/4 cup oat bran, 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1 chopped ripe banana, several dashes of cinnamon, and 1 tbsp chia seeds OR 1 scoop Sunwarrior protein powder. I mix everything together, let it sit in the fridge overnight, and then add a spoonful of creamy peanut butter in the morning. I know it sounds weird at first but it’s delicious!”

Thank you Jenny! Please check out Jenny’s blog for a wonderful wealth of infomation on the wonderful journey of getting and staying fit!

Don”t forget our  BFF “All Snook UP” Gift Certificate Giveaway… Share your BFF story on a comment, and you and your BFF can win a $25.00 Gift Certificate…Each!

Have a fantastic day!

 

Just keep swimming>>>> no really listen here!

 
Lisa
 

OH and one more thing…
Then there IS this – read these…

4 responses to “Ms. Fit…. “Ask Jenny” style

  1. what a wonderful, first class, honest person. This is an excellent interivew. We certainly have had ourhardships here, and one thing Ihave found to help immeasurably is exercise and strength traing. I got a divorce from my ex husband (not Jim) and ended up getting a job at a gym teaching people Nautiful, although I preferred free weights. The endorphins helped me so much. I am like Jenny: I don’t like competing with anyone but myself. I drive myself as hard as I can but if someone else is involved I gracefully LOSE LOL!

    Her oatmeal recipe sounds great and she is a super person, give her a virtul hug for me. jean

  2. Pingback: Get Your 60 Minutes In Strength Training Workout Wednesday | Fitness Health and Food

  3. Thank you Jean that is so sweet of you 🙂

  4. Pingback: Jennys boookmark | Alatisedesigns

Leave a Reply

