Just for today…Take a load off…

Just for today, don’t just stop and smell the coffee…sit down…take a load off…

Just for today, drink the whole cup…

Just for today, why don’t you change up dinner…have a real picnic, blanket and all, in your very own backyard…

Just for today, it doesn’t matter what you take to eat for your picnic, just get the kids to help…head on outside…and don’t take “ah, mom”, for an answer…

Just for today, promise you will follow these rules during the picnic: no high tech, leave the IPads, laptops and smart phones inside the house and communicate with not just words but song, stories, laughter and dreams…

Just for today, enjoy the fact that the only sound that you can hear is laughter or the sound of frogs, listen to it…let the peaceful sound take over your mind…enjoy the sounds…hang out with your family and for a few moments let that be all that matters in the whole wide world…

Just for today, make it a point to lay back on your blanket with the kids, the dog and ok ok ok your husband can come, too…lay back on the blanket hold hands, tell stories, sing songs or simply look at the stars and make wishes…

Just for today, who knows, maybe a marshmallow roast will bring your family closer….

And…

Just for today, all will be right with the world…

 

I never did this when my family was growing up, everything was more important. Projects, meetings, conference calls, business trips, money, money and money. Now that I am surrounded by nothing but silence, you know…I long for the giggles and the constant questions. Let the frogs sing for you more often…If a frog croaks at the pond and no one hears it, does it still make a sound?…

Just Keep Swimming…
 

"Don't make me use my mad face" - Ally

Lisa

We also wanted to remind everyone about our “All Snook Up ” monthly Giveaway and about “Surf’s Up” and why is it important?

“All Snook Up” is our monthly jewelry giveaway. Each person that has subscribed to our newsletter on our website and confirmed the subscription is entered. Drawings are once a month. The “All Snook Up”category shows the pieces for each month.

“Surf’s Up” is what we call our SocialVibe charity, Surfrider. The money that you raise by completing the activities when you click on it will help minimize pollution and keep our beaches and oceans clean so that we can continue to enjoy these awesome ecosystems. It is a free activity that we support on the blog, so feel free to click away. Just Keep Swimming…

17 responses to “Just for today…Take a load off…

  1. Very nice post! I will check out those links and see what those are all about! And thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. You are so sweet and thoughtful. I agree with your sentiments, but I have something cool to tell you. I get to stop and have moments in the manner which you describe because of my disabled children. They mean we will never have empty nest syndrome, or a lack of the joy of “children” in our house. I am so grateful for that you cannot imagine. xox jean– I am always surrounded with lots and lots of hugs and moments to cherish.

  3. This is wonderful! Thanks for the reminder!

  4. It is important to take the time to just be, to stop doing and just be. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. Lovely blog and post! You are so right about living in the moment. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for your nice comment!

  6. Great advice…although the rain WON’T STOP HERE!!!!! But, there’s always the quirky picnic in the living room…

  7. My kids are grown up and most have moved away from our locality. I think, because I teach and also have grandchildren, I don’t feel as strongly, as you do. I do relate though. It is not the same as when the kids had a special moment with you or when needed a hug or kiss or when they told tales of school, even when they grew independent and rebelled a little. It is very different.

    Thanks for linking up at My Sweet and Savory. I appreciate your kind comments,

  8. Lisa,
    …today is gone so fast…I make a point to spend time with my grandkids away from all distractions…drawing, baking, playing, and even watching tv or playing video games…time to be with just them.

    My sister in law and I were reminiscing recently and my granddaughter fell in love with our “stories” and it brought a deja vu feeling of the times I listened to my grammy tell me “stories” of her childhood.

    Wonderful post!
    ~cath

Leave a Reply

