Smackdown Alone… Still Searching The Songs…

I was born right smack in the middle of the 1960’s! I was born alone… taken to a home… it wasn’t on the range… it was wherever…  the sack fell during the roam finding lots of storms…   Alone in a land… that wouldn’t share a song… it was sad… til I fell on my back… thrown into a system… no one belongs… it’s no wonder I got the music in me… there were a lot of homes… I am grateful for the ones who shared their music and songs… while my parents were waiting to be born… they were born and found and luckily music was a solid ground… how lucky was I to still be around.

I don’t have any memories of news events from that time. I was alive when RFK was shot, flower power was going on, we walked on the moon… but I was simply to small… to recall if what I saw was memories or imagination from all I have read.

The first news event that I remember watching was third grade/Mrs. Clayton’s class.  She stopped teaching and turned on what I believe would have been the Watergate Hearings. It didn’t make much sense to me then… I wish I would/could remember how she explained what it all mean to us… it would be years until I actually researched that event.

I don’t remember the war coverage, protests or even the end of the Vietnam War… I was a kid and I was lucky at that time to be riding my bike which was the coolest thing to do after we ate dinner so I missed the news.

My experiences of the 60’s came from the music…when I was a kid I sang the songs… I still sing them today… time has changed and educated me… it would be years from those beginning days before I understood more of the day… the times… and what was going on in their minds…

Lots of things came out of the 1960’s…  I am grateful for the music… the people who believed in this land… and the change they brought on with their bands.

I didn’t set out to write this post… but I guess my brain and fingers had other plans… my connection to the tunes of the sixties… I believe I listen… trying to understand… why I could have been beaten and thrown away like a (what)… so I leave you today with of course some more tunes… of my beginning days!

Jimi Hendrix “All Along the Watchtower”…

The Band ” The Weight”…

Crosby Stills and Nash … “A Long Time Gone”…

Again, thanks for dropping by…. Please join in on our “Sisterhood Of The Traveling Journal” and Knights too… Woot Woot… Journal has left  Georgia and is on it’s way to PA…We now have 23 lovely people joining in, who is next!!!!…If you want in… JUST leave a comment with your e-mail or email me!

Something to think about: The very existence of flame-throwers proves that sometime, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I’m just not close enough to get the job done.

Hit the Facebook “Like” on the sidebar columns or on the FaceBook “Like” button below and I promise that I won’t come to your house and sing!! But you may win our brand new contest!! We will be giving away $100, $75 and $50 gift certificates to our website when we reach 500 “Likes” on our Facebook page. There will be one grand prize and 2 prizes for the most referrals. Enter by Liking us, first of all. The for extra chances, follow us on twitter, tell us what piece of jewelry you like best, subscribe to this blog!!

Please check out our Charities page!!! Let Us know your Charity so we can shout out the cause!!!!

Love ya,

Have a fantastic day! Kindness pass it on!!!

Just keep swimming>>>> no really listen here!

 
Lisa
 
OH and one more thing…
Then there IS this – read these…

If you only knew!!!

11 responses to “Smackdown Alone… Still Searching The Songs…

  1. oh Lisa I think all you music is nice and special, I love Crosby Still and Nash and yeah I knew all songs ! about sixtys is curious because I remember a few songs but about 70 all! But really I think in sixty like a lovely time!
    Have a nice day my dear! gloria

  2. Lisa,
    I think music plays a more important role in our lives than we even think! What you said here is so true. Much of what we remember about times past is the music and how it made us feel. I love you, sister. You bless so many!
    ~Erin

  3. The 60s and early 70s produced some truly great music. There has been some good stuff since then, but I keep going back to the music of those times.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  4. I was a teenager and in boarding school, and music was extremely important to all of us. It expressed things we were too pent up to express–when the days were nice, and the windows were open, you could hear music streaming out of each dorm room. It was the 60’s, and I was class of ’69, and all of us knew change was coming.
    Some of the girls went on to be lawyers and doctors, some went on to be artists–but all of us SUDDENLY WERE allowed to make a difference, even though we were girls. if that was our choice. Music was the subtle background to which we lived our lives. It was wonderful. Thank you for your selections today.

    Jimi is one of my favs. xox jean

  5. Thanks for another heartfelt post..and the great music!

  6. Though I lived with the music of the 80’s and this period touched me most because I was a teenager in the 80’s, I love music of the 60’s and 70’s. There was so much message and rebellion in the songs, I miss that nowadays.

Leave a Reply

